Jambalaya….so good!


Image

 

One of Jonesy’s favorite meals is Jambalaya.  I have to admit…I love it too!  It’s especially good on a chilly day.   Here is my recipe, give it a try and let me know how you like it.

Jambalaya

Ingredients:

2 tbl. olive oil

1 tbl. Cajun seasoning

10 oz. smoked sausage slice (andouille sausage can be use instead for an extra kick)

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into 1 inch pieces

1 onion, diced

1 small green pepper, diced

2 stalks celery, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 (16 oz) can crushed Italian tomatoes

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce (I use just a couple of shakes)

2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 1/4 C uncooked white rice

2 1/2 C chicken broth

Directions:

1.  Heat 1 tbl. of olive oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat.  Season sausage and chicken pieces with Cajun seasoning.  Saute sausage until browned.  Remove with slotted spoon, and set aside.  Add 1tbl. olive oil and saute chicken pieces until lightly browned on all sides.  Remove with slotted spoon, and set aside.

2.  In the same pot, saute onion, bell pepper, celery and garlic until tender.  Stir in crushed tomatoes, and season with red pepper, black pepper, salt, hot pepper sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. Stir in chicken and sausage, and cook for 10 minutes, Stirring occasionally.

3.  Stir in the rice and chicken broth.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed.

Image

Jonesy always goes back for seconds.  Ok, I confess…so do I.  🙂 countryfair_button_zps7427c677

4 thoughts on “Jambalaya….so good!

  1. Jan

    I can not wait to try this out! My husband is so picky about his Jambalaya and I have not made a batch quite to his liking yet (although he loves that I keep trying!). Cross your fingers for me! Thanks for sharing it over at Country Fair Blog Party! I do hope you’ll link up with us again at the first of January! See you there!
    Jan

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

