Doing Chores


Some mornings I struggle to get outta bed and this morning was one of them.  But waking up to this beautiful view sure helped alot!

I have been doing all the chores this week because Jonesy is away on a much deserved guys fishing trip.  That’s one of the best things about me being home full time now.  It feels good to be able to help out in that way.  So I thought I’d share with you what my chores this week entails.

Moe is always first!  After he gets his scoop of dog food and a pat on the head it’s time to fill buckets. After the buckets are filled (9 in all) and the calves at the home place are fed I head out to feed the rest of the herd which are on 3 different rental pastures.  Moe is usually ready before I even get the buckets all loaded in the truck!  

.

 

This time of morning it’s not unusual to see some kind of wild life…deer, turkey, turtle. Turtle?  Yep.  This guy was being a little shy.

 

We have gotten a little over 1 1/2″ of rain over the last few days, so getting in and out of some of the gates was a little tricky.

 

These girls are pretty serious about their breakfast! 

Unfortunately, in the day and age we live in our gates require locks.  The pasture we are saving for a hay field doesn’t have a gate yet and through the winter we had fire wood stolen and someone had a 4 wheeler in there making terrible ruts. When all the cattle are fed I head home and feed the chickens.  It all takes me an hour and a half or so.  Today was day 3 and I really feel a sense of accomplishment that I can take this on so hubby can hang out with good friends.  It’s important to both of us that we spend time with others having fun.  It makes our time together more precious.

But, I miss him and am ready for him to come home! 🙂

Thanks for reading,

countryfair_button_zps7427c677blog buttonfarmgirlfriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

-Lori

6 thoughts on “Doing Chores

  1. countrylinked

    I hate to say it, but sometimes I want the guys to be gone so that I can be the one doing the chores. With three little ones growing fast, I know my days of being the help are going fast. I will soon be replaced! It is all good though. 😉

    Great post to add to the County Fair Blog Party!
    Laurie – Country Link

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

