Balance


Balance. Balance…doesn’t seem like there is much of that in this world today.  Even in my own life, sometimes I struggle with keeping things from getting outta whack.

We hear so much about GMO/non-GMO, free range vs. cages and pens, antibiotics are good…no, they are bad…huh?  Sugar is bad for you, so is the artificial stuff, organic/non-organic…ugh!  So frustrating!  The biggest frustrating thing of all is the ugliness that comes out of it regardless of which “side” one may be on.  I don’t pretend to understand it all…in fact, I don’t understand most of it.  I’m just a simple girl living a simple life in my little corner of the world and what I do know is that I am blessed to be living in America where I have the choice.I’m not saying that I am for or against any of those things or that I don’t want to educate myself whenever possible.  There is just so much misinformation out there it’s sometime hard to weed out the garbage from the good stuff.

For me, producing top quality cattle and horses, and putting good nutritious food on the table for my family is important.  Our method of raising our animals stems from wanting to be good stewards of what God has blessed us with. 197 We garden, mostly because fresh fruits and veggies just taste so darn good!  The fact that they are better for us is an added plus.  Would I buy green beans or tomatoes in a can from the store.  Sure.  I do it all the time.  It’s not a problem for me.   I just want to do what I can when I can to care for my family.

We all have to live in this world together.  Why do we make it so complicated?

I  know I’ve been guilty of being judgmental if someone does things different than we do, yet get offended if I feel that same judgement.

Balance… That is going to be different for you than it is for me.  Wouldn’t it be nice if we (me) could respect those differences and share our knowledge with each other without judgment?

Thanks for reading,

-Lori

from the farm bloghopblog buttoncountryfair_button_zps7427c677downhome blog hophomeacre blogPinterestChick75x78_zps4a0484b0

 

8 thoughts on “Balance

  1. Pat Thistlethwaite

    Yes, I think you are right about balance – we grow veggies and we also buy veggies – mostly from farmers’ markets – I try not to eat tinned veggies,, preferring frozen ones. Tomatoes are the exception to this rule as a tin added to a casserole adds flavour.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Hanna littlebit jones

    Growing up on a farm my entire life then leaving for the city at such a young age has made me appreciate the “FRESH” aspect that being on the ranch could provide. Being away from the hustle and bustle this world cascades upon us, out in “your little corner of the world” makes you really appreciate the small things. For me, it was the garden.
    I hated the garden because I was the weed puller. But I never saw the amazing truth that because of this garden and because of those worthless, crusty blades of grass that made your hands crinkle up from mere feel of them, I had the convenience and ability to walk 200 feet from my front door and pull a fresh radish from the gritty dirt below. Now my convenience is driving a 1/4 mile down the road to a QT, a misfortune indeed.
    I am very proud of how your Outlook on the world and all the situational confrontations that encompass us on a daily basis has altered. Showing respect for and towards those who choose to be and do things differently is a trait that takes many years of practice. Being judgmental is to be human, accepting and admitting we are all guilty of this and trying to accept others for themselves is a true act of grace.
    Proud of you mama!
    Oh btw.. your writing is inspirational! Keep going and keep posting I love reading your blogs everyday!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. WolfSong

    Beautiful! I love this post.
    That balance in life can be tough to find sometimes, oh, but when you’ve found it…bliss!
    I have a hard time with the non-GMO/GMO debate because of all the misinformation…and how readily and easily people are to spread it. I don’t know how many times I have had to explain that we cannot buy GMO seeds for home gardens. It just can’t be done. *sigh* It seems that the folks I explain that to are the same one’s looking for a great deal on pop that week. So I just shake my head and laugh, because what else can you do? 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. crookedbrandranch Post author

      Thank you so much. The misinformation is so frustrating. It’s nice to know there are others out there who feel the same. It’s up to us to find and spread the truth. Thanks for reading and commenting.
      -Lori

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

