Tuesday Tour: Just Another Day at CBR


One of my favorite things is having coffee on our back deck in the mornings with Jonesy.  I never get tired of the sun easing it’s way up.

I managed to get some canning and preserving done this week.  I love knowing that we will feast on some yummy veggies this winter.  I canned 70 pints and 7 quarts of green beans (I was up till 2 in the morning) and froze about 11 pints of sweet corn.

Blanching 2 dozen ears of corn

Blanching 2 dozen ears of corn

Ready to go into the freezer

Ready to go into the freezer

There is still plenty of corn in the garden.

On Sunday we took the time to ride with some friends.  We rode along the Missouri River.  These particular trails are not my favorite, they are somewhat challenging.  But the scenery is pretty cool.

Missouri River

Missouri River

 

We’ve had some equipment issues this week also.

Jonesy working on one of the mowers

Jonesy working on one of the mowers

Both of the mowers are down, the big tractor has had a quick fix on the hydraulics (major repairs will have to be done).  The big round baler had a bearing go out and today it blew the seals out of the cylinder and OMG  the square baler (the one I operate) knotted up on me!  Who knows what’s wrong with it….Just another day on the ranch.  Remember, it’s just a season. 

I managed to get a picture of my horse Gunny with the clover field behind him before it was cut the second time.  Love my pony!

 

The chickens and the ducks love their free range time.

Ready for my close up

Flip and Flop

Flip and Flop

 

Hope ya’ll have a great week!

Be blessed,

-Lori

from the farm bloghopblog button

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Tour: Just Another Day at CBR

    1. crookedbrandranch Post author

      Jonesy is the hardest working man I know! I would much rather him fix all the broken down equipment than put up veggies! Besides…he would just be in the way! lol Actually, he is a great cook…when I was working full time he did most of the cooking and canning. I am blessed to have him.
      Flip and Flop provide a lot of entertainment. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Southernruralroute.wordpress.com

    Lori – This was on Facebook with photos, which I can’t send. Just want to make sure you are aware of this:
    “Poisonous Plant Alert!!!
    We just got a final diagnosis on 3 horses that were showing neurological symptoms similar to EPM.
    The toxic plant is called “Singletary Pea”. The seed pods are poisonous and can be ingested from grazing or eaten from baled hay. These horses were eating locally baled round bales that were a grass hay mix of Rye grass, Coastal , and some Vetch. The amount of Singletary pea in the hay was enough to make 3 horses very unstable and neurological. Luckily, we caught it and removed the source. All 3 are better but may take 4 to 6 weeks to fully recover. This plant can also affect cattle.
    When actively growing, the seed pods are “hairy” or fuzzy. They produce a small pink or purple flower and have twin leaves that stick up like rabbit ears.”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

