Perspective


If you have been keeping up with this blog, you know that I was born and raised in the city.  When I met Jonesy my junior year in high school I had never even set foot on a real working ranch or farm.  Not long after we married and had our first kiddo we bought a pretty little 40 acre piece of ground.  The three of us (and a border collie named Princess) made the move and the adventure began!wedding photo

What an adventure it has been!  I really had no idea what I was getting into!  At first I was just “the farmers wife”.  The first time Jonesy wanted to bring a newborn calf or piglet in the house to help warm it up my reaction was “You wanna do WHAT?!?!?”baby calf

In fact, it took me a lot of years to get over that.  The “city” girl in me still shows up sometimes, and when it comes to critters like spiders, snakes, mice etc.  I really turn into a girlie girl! 🙂

I am the youngest child of 4 and the only girl.  There is quite an age difference between myself and my 3 older brothers (20years, 19years, and 13 years to be exact).  So I kind of grew up as an only child.  My mom was a stay at home mom, of which I am grateful, and my dad was an over-the-road truck driver for a car hauling company, and was out-of-town 3-4 days a week.  We lived in a “regular” neighborhoowith houses lined up side by side along a paved street where kids played ball and rode their bikes.  Everything was routine and regular.  From my mom being home when I came home from school to dinner being promptly at 5pm each night.

I was never an out doorsey type of kid.  In fact, I was 17 before I ever built a snow man.  I was dating Jonesy at the time and when he heard I had not done this childhood activity, he bundled me up and dragged me out into the snow!

Playing with Moe in the snow

Playing with Moe in the snow

Fast forward to the here and now.  We now have added 80 acres to the original 40 and rent another 200 and my life is anything but routine and regular.  Hah!  No…not at all.  When you ranch or farm, routines always change with the seasons.  They can change sometimes weekly and very often daily.   But that is what makes this lifestyle such an adventure.  It has taught me so much.   Ranch life is about being flexible, it’s about learning and changing.  It makes me want to do better…be better.

So, I am thankful to have been apart of both city life and ranch life.  I think it in some ways gives me a unique perspective, and a deep appreciation of the hard work it takes to feed the world.

I will say though, I wouldn’t trade a beautiful night sky in the country for the lights of the city.

This was taken by my daughter-in-law

This was taken by my daughter-in-law

from the farm bloghopblog buttoncountryfair_button_zps7427c677PinterestChick75x78_zps4a0484b0farmgirlfridaydownhome blog hop

Leave a Reply

