Tuesday Tour: Bull Fights and Pear Slurping


It’s been another busy week here at CBR.  On Monday we brought the bulls home and it’s always interesting to watch them get re-aquainted.  In the video, the big guy is our Saler bull “Tank” and the other one is our Angus heifer bull “JohnCoffey”.  The little guy that keeps running in is “Joe”.  Maybe he is saying “C’mon guys…can’t we just get along?”  I don’t know…what do you think?   And of course Ranch Dog Moe thinks he needs to referee.

Selling firewood is one of the ways we supplement our income during the winter, and last week we delivered about 8 cord in addition to 220 square bales of hay.

I finally got around to putting up the pears we picked a few weeks ago.  I almost waited too long, but they have turned out beautifully.  I did 53 pints in a light syrup.pearsAnd just for kicks I tried a recipe for Salted Carmel Pear Butter.  It turned out really yummy!  This batch I used nutmeg, but next time I may use cinnamon instead.pear butterAfter I peeled and cored the pears, I took them out and dumped them over the corral fence for the cows…boy did they enjoy that!  They literally slurped them up and smacked their lips!  No, seriously…they really did make a slurping, smacking sound!

Nom, nom, nom

Nom, nom, nom

Slurp, smack....

Slurp, smack….

Last week I also published what so far has been my most read blog post since I started blogging early last spring. You can read it here.  Let me tell you, not only is that exciting for a newbie blogger, but it gives me confidence to keep doing what I am doing.  One of the goals of my blog is to help people understand what the ranch life is all about and hopefully give a better understanding of what we as ranchers do on a daily basis to be good stewards of the land and animals that have been entrusted to our care.

So, I want to thank you all who stop by regularly.  Your support and especially your comments are an encouragement.  Thank you to those of you who are brand new…I can’t wait to hear from you!

That’s it for this weeks Tuesday Tour…thanks again for reading.

Be Blessed,

-Lorihomeacre blog

blog buttoncountryfair_button_zps7427c677farmgirlfriday

 

9 thoughts on “Tuesday Tour: Bull Fights and Pear Slurping

  1. homesteadhillfarm

    I must admit…today’s title made me giggle.
    You did a beautiful job on the pears. Doesn’t it make your heart swell a little when you see all those pretty jars of food ready for winter and know that you did it? You’ll enjoy them in the cold weather!
    Looks like the fellas enjoyed them too. There’s something about Angus bulls…
    Thanks for the tour! Have a great week.
    -Barbara

    Like

    Reply
  2. thenoveilst

    Boy I love animals. I remember when back in the days of my youth, feeding the pigs juicy fruits how they would slurp it all up. Or feeding the cows apples in India when I used to travel there. They love fruits 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kim

    I was a co-hostess at a PEO meeting last night and made a fresh pear cake, using pears from our trees. We put them in an extra refrigerator and have been pulling them out, a few at a time to use. I served it with a homemade caramel sauce and ice cream, and It got good reviews. I did get a little tired of peeling pears for the two cakes I made, so I can’t imagine all the work you had to do. Seeing your beautiful jars makes me think I need to become a canner like my Grandma!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

