Tuesday Tour: Blessings


thanksgiving table2It’s so easy to dwell on the negative, and I find myself doing this far too often.  Thanksgiving is a good reminder of just how blessed we are.  Sometimes things don’t go like we planned and my very own daughter reminded me that it’s much better to not dwell on the negative and focus on the blessings, For example, because both my kids are in retail management their jobs required them to be at work Thanksgiving evening in preparation for Black Friday.   The blessing…our family was still able to gather around my table for a turkey dinner on Sunday evening.

I even put up a the Christmas tree and a few decorations on Sunday.  I hope to get more done this week.mantel lightsChristmas tree1We completed  the new waterer at the Home place.  The boys were very curious about what was going on.

Hey dad...whatcha doin'

Hey dad…whatcha doin’

The temps were cold and we were both sick (and grumpy) while working on this.  The Blessing…A heated automatic water source, and one less place to have to chop ice this winter.watererSometimes it’s not so hard to find the blessings.  It can be just a good laugh right outside your back door.  These two heifers found themselves in a bit of a situation… They both have their heads  stuck in this mineral feeder!   stuckWith a little help from Jonesy they did get out of there.  Then they just looked at him like “What?”  I couldn’t help but laugh!

Another Blessing that came our way this week was this antique stove.  We traded a load of firewood for it and I can’t wait to get it cleaned up and in the house!  I believe it was made sometime around 1898-1899.  I’m super excited!antique stoveWith Thanksgiving behind us and Christmas just around the corner, I find myself thinking about finding blessings every day, giving people grace and love, and just being more thankful and less negative.  Not easy to do, but a worthwhile goal.

I told my daughter who reminded me of these things the other day that she was right.

The Blessing….She said, “Mom, it’s what you taught me.”

Be Blessed,

-Lorihomeacre blogcountryfair_button_zps7427c677farmgirlfridayblog button

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Tour: Blessings

  1. homesteadhillfarm

    Good reminder!
    Y’all must feel better because laughter is the best medicine.Those two cows with their heads stuck just cracked me up. I once saw two bulls tussling around at a hay feeder by the side of the road. When I drove back by later, one was stuck INSIDE. LOL
    Glad you were able to spend time with the family and count your blessings. You made me smile. 🙂
    Have a great day!
    -B

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jan

    oh my goodness, thank you for the reminder to look for the blessings! I have been in a chronic pain situation with my back the last few weeks and need to get out of my pity party! and I really needed the chuckle today too! I will have that picture of those sweet heifers in my head all day!
    Thanks for sharing yourself with us over Country Fair Blog Party! I am blessed to have read your thoughts today!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Southernruralroute.wordpress.com

    While my mother was alive, I was always brought down by her glass-is-half-empty philosophy of focusing on the negative. She’s been gone 2 years and I make it a point to keep myself around happy people. I am now able to focus on the smallest of blessings and beauty. For instance, yesterday I was in a Christmas-crowded parking lot walking back to my car. I saw a lone, small red leaf on the tarmac and was pleased to see it there in all its fiery glory. My biggest blessing is my faith in God and knowing He wants the best for me.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

