Focus


sunset

At the beginning of a new year I ask the Lord to give me a word.  A word that will be my theme, if you will, for that year.  It is something that I want fresh on my mind at all times.  Something to strive for, believe in, find comfort.   Some of the words of the past have been Grace, Restoration, and Rest.  I believe this year the word I am to focus on is……..

Focus.

Focus as defined by Websters is:

A guiding or motivating purpose or principle. (noun)

To fix one’s attention steadily toward a central object. (verb)

Now, I will be the first to admit that I am not alway good at staying focused.  It seems like almost a daily struggle.  When ranching is your lifestyle, interruptions can come in all shapes and sizes and at any given moment, day or night.

Little Man

Those days it can be really hard to stay focused or to re-focus.  Then there are the days when nothing in particular is going on and I just can’t quite make it happen.

Here we are at the end of January, and I can say that I still am not as focused as I would like to be.  The good news is it’s only the end of January.

So, what is the guiding or motivating purpose I want to fix my attention on?   Several things really.  I want to be able to get more accomplished in my daily tasks.  There are everyday things to do like cooking, cleaning and helping tend the animals, etc.cooking potato  But there are seasonal endeavors… vegetable and flower gardening, helping with hay season while still attempting to keep up with dishes and laundry (nevermind the floors), preparing for winter…..to name a few.

My problem is I get distracted easlily…and, ok, I’ll admit it…social media is my biggest distraction.  Notice I said distraction, NOT addiction.  (ahem)

Anyhoo…

I bought a planner that allows me to see the whole month in one section, and in another I can make a daily list.Planner  Making a list is very helpful in keeping me on task.  I don’t get bent out of shape if something comes up and I’m not able to cross everything off for that day.  I just add it to the next day (and sometimes the next one after that).   The issue with this planner is that when I write everything down, the amount of stuff to do feels overwhelming.  That’s just the “I am a responsible adult” stuff to be done, nevermind the “stuff I just wanna do, cuz I enjoy it” stuff.  (Like blogging, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest…well, you get the idea.)

Maybe it would help if I write on my list each day DON’T GET ON THE COMPUTER!

In the meantime, I will FOCUS each day on improving my Get-R-Done attitude and hopefully by the end of the year I will be able to say that I got focused in 2015.

What about you?  Do you have a word that motivates you in the new year?

How do you keep your focus?

I would love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading,

-Lori

homeacre blogfarmgirlfridayblog buttoncountryfair_button_zps7427c677

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Focus

Leave a Reply

