A little of This and a Little of That


I was blessed to have a wonderful mother-in-law.  Even though I only had her for about 10 years, I learned so much from her.  One of the things she taught me was the Jones family recipe for homemade bread.  This is one of several recipes that has been handed down to family only.

The tradition goes all the way back to Jonesy’s great grandma.  That was back when no one measured ingredients…a little of this, a bit of that.    That’s how it was passed to me and I hope my daughter and daughter-in-law carry on the tradition.

Measurements include handful and palmful

Of course, at some point flour needs to be stirred in “till it looks good”.  

Even Jonesy gets in on the action.  I remember his grandpa helping his grandma stir and knead the bread.  Such a sweet memory.                                                     

After it “looks good”, I turn it out onto a floured surface and knead some more flour into it.  When it’s done, it looks like this.                                                                

After it raises once I separate it into loaf pans and let it raise a second time.

 

 

 

 

Did I mention this makes alot of bread?

After the second raising it’s time to bake.  The house smells so good while the bread is in the oven.  Usually Jonesy will grab the first loaf out of the oven, tear a piece off, and butter it.

Homemade bread is a favorite tradition around here.  I always think about my mother-in-law whenever I make it.  Maybe that is why families start traditions.  It’s a way to help us remember those we have lost.

What are some of your family traditions?  I’d love to hear them.

-Lori

countyfair_ribbon_zpsd1937d63


homeacre blogfarmgirlfridayblog buttondownhome blog hop

11 thoughts on “A little of This and a Little of That

  1. Life on a Dirt Road

    My MIL is just the same. Cannot get a solid recipe out of her! I did manage to learn how to make chicken soup that is pretty good. 🙂
    Your bread looks amazing! I hardly every eat wheat anymore, but I would totally eat your bread with a bunch of fresh butter and damn the consequences! 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jen B

    That is exactly how I learned to cook. When someone asks me for a recipe it is sometimes difficult to recreate it. That is where blogging has been a big help. I now write things down as I create and cook.

    Like

    Reply
  3. countrylinked

    Congratulations on being the Food Champion for week #11 of the Country Fair Blog Party! Great post! Love that you have your champion button added. Be sure and join us for all the fun during week #12.
    Laurie – Country Link

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: COUNTRY FAIR BLOG PARTY #12 « COUNTRY LINKed

  5. Pingback: Christmas: Then, Now, Someday | Life at Crooked Brand Ranch

Leave a comment